RSS S.O.S.

I’m late to the party. My brother has been using an RSS feed reader or aggregator or whatever you want to call it for a couple years while I’ve been stolidly clicking bookmarks. While I like actually visiting webpages and getting the “feel” of the page, I’m starting to think that there is a lot of content I’m missing because I don’t have the time or resources to effectively skim all the sites I might potentially be interested in each day.

To that end I’m polling all four of you that regularly read this site. Please respond.

If you use any kind of RSS reader, which one is it? I’ve heard of Bloglines, but I’d like to hear some brief pros and cons if anyone has wisdom to bestow.

Second, while I’m at it, my daily jams get stale from time to time, so if there’s a site that you visit on a daily basis that I can’t live without, feel free to let me know about it.

4 thoughts on “RSS S.O.S.

  1. I don’t know if you are counting me as one of the four; but I read it regularly because it is on my …… Bloglines list!!! Don’t really have any wisdom to bestow but, I love it because then I know I am not missing anything on any of my favorites. Every once in awhile I’ll enjoy actually going to the individual sites so I can get the feel. Awhile back one of my favorite blogs changed up her whole page, graphics etc, and I missed it because I was just seeing what was on the feed. You probably have more than four following. I am a stalker on all the ones I read.. :):) … so who knows how many are loving your stuff.

  2. Am I one of the 4? I read this because it shows up on my Google Reader–which I love. I subscribe to a ton of different blogs, can read “all new” or go one by one through the different blogs. The best things it that I have a number of friends who we “share” blogs with. If you read an entry you like you press “share” and it comes up on their reader. That way I feel like I get the best of everyone’s blogs.

    that’s it.

  3. I’m echoing Katie’s sentiments here: Google Reader. I like having everything all in one place (email, docs, calendar, analytics, reader, etc) that I can check anywhere. And given that I have about 200 blogs on my list, there’s certainly no way I’d have time in the day to click through each one in bookmarks (though, full disclosure: I was a bit of a late adopter as well, so I feel your pain).

    As for blogs that you may or may not be reading regularly already:

    Animal Review
    Unhappy Hipsters

    ‘Tis all-
    L

  4. Late to the party? I didn’t even know there was a party I wasn’t attending. So I can’t help you because I don’t know what anyone is talking about.

    -Number 5

Leave a Reply

