Carrying the Fire

I had a dream. My father was in it. It was like we was both back in older times. And I was a’horseback of a night, going through this pass in the mountains. And it was cold, there was snow on the ground. He rode past me and kept on going. Never said nothing going by, just rode on past. He had his blanket wrapped around him and his head down. When he rode past me I seen he was carrying fire in a horn the way people used to do. I could see the horn from the light inside it, like the color of the moon. And in the dream I knew that he was going on ahead. He was fixing to make a fire somewhere out there in all that dark, in all that cold. I knew that whenever I got there that he’d be there. And then I woke up.

-Ed Tom Bell, No Country For Old Men

Leave a Reply

