Confession

You seduced me, Lord,
and I was seduced.

Yes, you conquered me,
you were stronger than I,
and I let myself be seduced.

Not even death
can free me now
from the sweet yoke
which you make lighter for me,
because, powerful warrior,
you accompany me,
and you weep with my weeping
and moan in my prayer
and break your silence in my cry.

Because you are
stronger than I,
I have let myself be seduced.
And your love
burns my heart.

-March 27, 1981
San José, Costa Rica

– selections excerpted from “Confession” by Julia Esquivel

Leave a Reply

